The Department of Environmental Sciences employs a staff of 12 nationalities, and cooperates with numerous national and international universities and research institutes.


Research Areas


  • Climatology, glaciology and avalanches
  • Quaternary- and marine geology
  • Bedrock geology and mountain-side and loose mass landslides
  • Hydrology and hydro-geology

Landscape Planning

  • Vegetation- and restauration ecology
  • Land-use and landscape ecology
  • Ecology and climate change
  • Management and protection of landscapes
  • Population ecology

Renewable Energy

  • Sustainable development
  • Transport, the environment and land-use
  • Environmental- and societal consequences of renewable energy
  • Life cycle assessment
  • Energy economics and investing under uncertainty