Privacy (GDPR) at the library

Information about privacy in the library's system.

To be able to borrow from an HVL library, some personal information must be registered in our library system Alma, a system from ExLibris. We register name, student number / employee number, address, telephone number and e-mail address. This is to be able to get in touch with you when needed, for example you pick up messages or reminders.

When you are registered in Alma, you as a student and employee also get access to these systems:

  • The discovery system Oria: To be able to order and renew loans, as well as use other functions such as saving searches.
  • Leganto reading list system: To access material on reading lists, create your own notes in the reading lists (employees / students) and be able to create reading lists (employees).

For complete privacy information, read the following document:

The most important thing to know is this:

Registration

Student

Once you have accepted a study place at HVL, personal information is transferred from the Felles Studentregisteret (FS) to the library system Alma. This means that you now are registered and have access to the digital library and can borrow books.

The student card and the student ID app works as library card.

Employee

Personnel information for employees with a vacancy rate of more than 20% is automatically transferred from the personnel system SAP to Alma. Employees with a vacancy rate of 20% or less must contact the library to be registered.

The employee card works as a library card.

External user

Anyone with a valid ID can become a borrower at HVL. A national library card or student card from another library can be used as a library card.

Terminate user account

Student / Employee

When you quit as a student or employee at HVL, the user account will expire and be deleted. All your personal information will be deleted from the library's systems. If you have outstanding loans or claims, the information will be deleted when everything has been delivered or paid.

If you still want to borrow books from HVL, you must create a new user account.

Private user

If you no longer wish to be registered as a borrower at HVL, we can delete the library card and personnel information from our system. The condition is that everything has been returned and any payment claims have been paid.

Loan history

We store information about books that have been borrowed. When you return them the information get deleted. We do not keep loan history.

Orders

There are regular jobs in the system to ensure that your personal information does not remain in the system when ordering books, articles and other material.

Sharing and accessing information

We do not share personal information or information about loans or orders with anyone other than you. Employees at the HVL library have access to your information. Employees at subcontractors also have access due to perform part of their job. Everyone has a duty of confidentiality.

Access to databases and digital resources

Many of the databases and digital resources the library has access to are subscription-based and require you to be recognized by a supplier as a student or employee at HVL. In most cases, this is done by IP detection. This means that as long as you are logged in to the university college's network, you will automatically have access to the resources.

Private users can access via the library's computers or via the guest network.

EZproxy

When you are off campus or on your own computer, we use EZproxy / Galanga to verify access to e-resources. EZproxy is operated by OCLC. Information is stored for 8 days before being deleted. This is saved:

  • IP-adress
  • Date and time of connection
  • Username
  • Session ID generated by EZproxy

FEIDE

In some cases, FEIDE login is required to digital resources. FEIDE is operated by Sikt. They then get access to the FEIDE name and IP address.

User account in the databases

If you wish, you can create a user account in most databases to store searches and articles. Such a user account will be an agreement between you as a private person and the database provider, where you yourself agree to the provider's terms and processing of personal data before use.